Once Upon A Time + LGBTQ relationship that is way overdue

once

I am a HUGE Once Upon A Time (OUAT) fan, mainly because I love fairy-tales. This show not only has fairy-tales but it likes to give them a modern twist and merge these tales in way I have never seen before.  However it was not until I read this article about a LGBTQ relationship appearing in the fifth season that it hit me “wow they have all been hetero-normative relationships-isn”t this suppose to be modern times?”(also don’t get me started about how minorities are underrepresented in this series).

Oh but some would argue it hasn’t all been heterosexual relationships because of this couple:

mulandaura

To be completely honest I barely picked up on the attraction that was displayed by Mulan to Aura and I still have my reservations about Aura’s affection being reverted back to Mulan. I came across an article sometime ago that broke down this couple for me. I had to read it a few times to even make sense of it because it was not clearly represented in the show (for me at least).

So now OUAT is coming to their fifth season. They say there WILL be a LGBTQ relationship: will it be Mulan and Aura? They did not confirm, but Mulan will be returning. At first I was excited that this type of relationship would be explored and shown but then I became a bit outraged because: why hasn’t this been done already? There has been four other seasons! It is the modern time where evil can be good and good can be evil. Yet romance and love is only shown with a man and a woman…why? and there is also a lot of emphasis on old fairy-tales cliches like love will conquer all and to never give up which can be hurtful messages to give the viewers.

So although I am happy to see a step forward I feel it is a much over due step. Though I hope these characters don’t become the token LGBTQ characters, I look forward to this new romantic story arc and hope they expand with more characters that show the divers expression of sexuality.

Leave a comment